IEBC begins Diaspora Voter Registration

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has began registering voters in the diaspora. This comes after the mass voter registration exercise came to an end on February 19th following an extension by the High Court from the previous designated closing date of 14th February by IEBC.

The diaspora voter registration exercise began on 20th February and it will continue until 6th March 2017.

The voter registration will cater for the people living in the following areas:

  1. Tanzania – Arusha and Dar es Salaam
  2. Burundi – Bujumbura
  3. Rwanda – Kigali
  4. Uganda – Kampala
  5. South Africa – Pretoria

To register in the indicated centres, you need to be a Kenyan citizen who has attained the age of majority (18 years), and with a valid Kenyan passport.

The persons living outside Kenya and who are registered as voters will be limited to vote for the presidential candidate of their choice. Those in the diaspora who wish to transfer their voter registration centres to the areas indicated above will also have the chance to do so during the registration process. This also includes those registered within Kenya and who relocated to the areas where the diaspora voter registration is taking place.

During the same period from 20th February to 6th March 2017, IEBC will be receiving party normination rules from political parties.


Kenyans are waiting eagerly for IEBC to release an update on the just concluded mass voter registration exercise.

Meanwhile, here at RoGG Kenya, we have compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the voter registration process. You can find these questions by clicking here.

Show More
Back to top button